That is what we will tell you. In this post, we will compare guest and incognito modes in Chrome. You can browse the web using Chrome in three ways – general browsing with different user profiles, incognito, and guest modes. In the first case, you can create different profiles, and each will have its data – extensions, bookmarks, passwords, and more.
The browsing activity will be different for each user, and it remains the same when you exit the browser.
Both incognito and guest modes are temporary browsing modes and the browser erases your browsing history as soon as you exit one of them. Do not get confused.
We’ll learn more about the differences between Chrome’s guest and incognito modes. let’s get started. The primary difference between incognito and guest modes on Chrome Incognito mode is an extended version of Normal mode to let you browse in private.
That is, you get most of the features of the normal mode, but your browsing history is not saved. This allows existing Chrome users to browse privately without saving any information.
Conversely, as the name suggests, the guest profile is designed for guest users. Mainly for those who want to use your PC temporarily. It works in two ways. First, it does not give access to your Chrome data to the guest user. Secondly, it also protects guest privacy by not allowing you to view your browsing history after exiting the mode.
You can call it a slightly advanced and restricted version of Incognito Mode for temporary users. Read more about guest mode to see how it differs from normal browsing mode. Availability Incognito mode is available on all platforms.
You can use it on Windows, Mac OS, Android, and iPhone. However, the guest mode is limited to Windows and macOS only. On Android, you can use Android guest mode. What happens when you launch incognito or guest mode on Chrome When you launch any mode, a new window will open.
You will see bookmark bars and extensions authorized to work in incognito mode. On the other hand, the guest mode provides a blank profile. After this, you will not see a different icon in the taskbar in secret. The icon will be bundled with your existing Chrome icon. The guest mode gets a different icon in the taskbar.
You can use all three modes at the same time. However, both Incognito and Guest modes can be launched from normal mode only.
You cannot go from incognito mode to guest mode and vice versa.
Tip: If Incognito mode is missing from ChromeAlso on Guiding Tech, are there ways to fix it?
Is Chrome’s Secret Identity Really Private?
Read 4 things to know about this and read more Incognito mode is black-ish in appearance. Some may also confuse it with Chrome’s dark mode.
If you don’t like the default color, you can change the theme color of incognito mode. Guest mode is always white, even if a theme is activated on your Chrome profile. When you use guest or incognito mode, Google Sync stops Google Sync.
You also do not offer the sign-in option available in normal browsing mode.
What it takes to bookmark You can create new bookmarks and access your existing ones in incognito mode. Chrome supports multiple profiles, and each user has a set of bookmarks. So bookmarks will be shown for the Chrome profile from where you opened incognito mode.
If the bookmark bar was active in normal mode, you would also see it in incognito.
The guest mode does not support bookmarks. You can neither create nor view bookmarks.
When you try to use a bookmark from its URL Chrome: bookmark the following text will be shown to you. What happens for the download Your download history is shared between normal and incognito mode.
That is, you can view downloaded files through the normal browsing mode in Incognito. However, the same is not true for guest mode.
The download section appears blank for each new session. Also, when you can download files in both incognito and guest mode, your download history will be erased from Chrome as soon as you exit the mode.
Meaning, if you open Chrome: you will not see any record of files downloaded from guest or incognito mode. This does not mean that the file has also been deleted from your PC.
You can still download it or access it from another folder where you downloaded it. Can you access extensions By default, extensions do not work in either incognito or guest mode.
However, Chrome lets you enable extensions so that they also work in incognito mode. You must enable the setting for each extension individually.
For that, open chrome: click on the description next to the extension.
Turn on the toggle for permission in Incognito. Then you will also see the extension icon in incognito mode.
Can the settings be changed Yes, in the case of incognito mode, when you click on the settings, you will be taken to the normal Chrome settings?
So any setting can be changed. The guest user does not have access to your normal Chrome settings.
The only setting that can be changed is the search engine for guest mode.
Also at Guiding Tech #Compare that click here to see our comparative articles page. You can view browsing history. Both modes do not provide history options in the Chrome menu. However, if you try to open it via CTRL + H shortcut or using URL chrome: // history /, different things will happen.
In the case of incognito mode, you will be shown the browsing history of your normal profile. Also, in incognito mode, Chrome will autocomplete the search results from the normal mode browsing history. In guest mode, you will be told that history is not available. In any case, your history is not recorded.
When you turn off incognito or guest mode, what happens after exiting the mode, Chrome will delete the following information: Browsing history – any website you’ve visited, such as a camera or Information such as the ability to access location that you enter in forms, then the new session will start with a blank slate in relation to each of the above points.
Who can see your information While both private browsing modes hide your browsing history and other data locally (from other Chrome users and profiles), they do not make you invisible on the web?
That is, the following medium can still see your browsing activity: The websites you visit, where you sign in with your Internet service provider, which also runs your network such as an employer or school search engine WhatsApp Both password and auto-login mode accesses your password or cookies, so you will have to log in to every website again.
And because they do not save their cookies or passwords, you will be logged out after you exit. How to start and stop incognito mode
To open Incognito Mode, launch Chrome and click the three-dot icon at the top. Select a new incognito window from the menu. To exit incognito mode, close all incognito mode windows.
Use the shortcuts CTRL + SHIFT + N (Windows) and SSH + SHIFT + N (macOS) to launch the mode. You can always launch Chrome in Incognito Mode as well.
How to launch and close guest mode To launch it, click on the profile icon at the top and choose the Open Guest window.
Like Incognito, you can always launch Chrome in the guest mode as well. To disable guest mode, either close the guest mode window or click the user icon at the top of the guest profile. Select Exit Guest from the menu.
Both have almost identical use cases when using guest or incognito mode. You can use them as well as the normal mode to sign in to multiple accounts. For example, if someone wants to log into Facebook, you can open an incognito or guest mode. This way, you will not have to logout from your account.
Similarly, you can run multiple WhatsApp accounts.
As you know extensions do not work by default in incognito mode
, you can use this to troubleshoot Chrome. Also, since you do not have cookies in these modes, you can check for price discrimination. That is, some websites increase the price based on your search history.
If they have no history, the data shown will be indiscriminate. And, of course, use guest mode to let someone else browse for a temporary period.
Read also on directing how to disable (and why you want) Chrome Password Manager. Reader Defender Inter Guest mode is best suited for situations where you have to give access to a stranger to your computer, or you Using someone else’s PC.
Incognito mode is ideal when you want to browse privately yourself so that your history is not recorded. You may have some websites to open directly in incognito mode. Next: Is Chrome Giving You Trouble?
Fix this by resetting the Chrome settings. Check more about incognito mode on google support